Header Image for Abergavenny Town Council

Abergavenny Town HallCouncil Information

Abergavenny Town Council is the local council for Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, South Wales. It seeks to look after the concerns of local residents, to improve the appearance of the town and to attract visitors to the many events that are held here each year.

The Council meets monthly (except for August) and it also has several committees to which it refers specific issues. Apart from Planning Committee, which makes recommendations on Planning Applications direct to the County Council which is the Planning Authority, all of the Committees make recommendations to the full Council which is the decision-making body.

The Council has 15 members from 5 wards with three members to each ward. The Clerk is Jane Lee who can be contacted on clerk@abergavennytowncouncil.gov.uk or 01873 735820.

The Council has a number of powers which are concurrent with the County Council, but in general it chooses not to exercise those powers because residents are already paying their Council Tax to the County Council to provide those services. At present the Council has decided to provide a dog waste collection service from 30 bins at strategic points around the town, and it employs a part time litter picker to work in the outlying areas of the Town which are not normally covered by the County Council service.

The Council also makes a number of grants to voluntary bodies in the town, and it works with the County Council by providing contributions to large capital projects in the town, such as a Skate-Board Park, refurbishment of the historic Market Hall and contributions to Tourism Marketing.

The Council has retained many of the traditions of local government in the town. The Mayor and Councillors wear robes on Ceremonial occasions; the Mayor is installed at a special function each year, and the new Mayor also has a Civic Service to dedicate him/herself to the good of the Town, which involves a procession to and from the church in full regalia, acompanied by the Borough Band.    

For enquiries about other Local Government services such as Refuse Collection, Highways Problems, Schools and Social Services, please contact the Monmouthshire County Council on 01633 644644 or click here to visit the website.