Header Image for Abergavenny Town Council

Welcome to the Abergavenny Town Council

If you are looking to find out what we and the County Council do, so that you can contact the correct agency, please click here to download the document.

Councillor David Simcock is the Mayor of Abergavenny for the 2017/18 year and Councillor Penny Simcock is the Mayoress.  The Deputy Mayor is Councillor Magaret Harris and her Consort is Councillor Stephen Head. 

Have a look at our Events Calendar on the Publicity and Events page to see what is going on in Abergavenny during the coming year. We revise it periodically as we get more information to give you. 

Abergavenny is a town of some 10,000 people, located on the River Usk, and close to the Brecon Beacons National Park. It is an ancient market town, complete with castle, theatres, leisure centre, museum and a number of highly regarded eating places. It is the home of the Abergavenny Food Festival in September each year, and it also hosts a number of other interesting events such as the Steam Rally in May and the Shire Horse Show in late July,. Christmas Festivities include a street parade and great Christmas lights. We also have free Band Concerts in local parks and behind the Market Hall on three Sundays in the summer (see Events calendar).    

The Town is set in a really beautiful area and is well worth a visit with a whole range of things to do. This year we won a silver award in the Wales in Bloom category for towns of our size. 

In 2016 Abergavenny  hosted the National Eisteddfod of Wales - a great honour for us and we hope, a great experience for all who came along.

 The Town's two main parks are being improved in contrasting ways - Linda Vista Gardens as a quiet haven with floral displays and unusual trees, Bailey Park as a sports park which also holds events during the year. Both Parks have Friends Groups in place and if you would like to join one of them please contact the Town Clerk for details. In addition there is now a Friends of Castle Meadows group who would welcome interested members. 

A major refurbishment of the town centre paving has recently been completed, which complemented by the newly refurbished St John's Square, helps make Abergavenny a really attractive and enjoyable place to visit.  Why not take a look?  We look forward to seeing you!!

When you visit you may find a copy of the Town Map useful.

 Please note the Council's Website Disclaimer



Abergavenny Town Council


Public Audit (Wales) Act 2004

Account and Audit (Wales) Regulations 2014 (SI 2014/337)

This notice will be displayed from 15 May to 28 May 2017

Each year the body’s annual return is audited on behalf of the Auditor general for wales and any person interested has the opportunity to inspect and make copies of the annual return and all books, deeds, contracts, bills, vouchers and receipts relating to them.

The documents for Abergavenny Town Council are to be made available on reasonable notice by the application between the hours of 9.00 and 17.00 on Mondays to Fridays. (excluding Public Holidays)


     Commencing on      _________________________________________________


     Ending on                ___________________________________________________

If you wish to view them then please contact the named body representative:

Name                                 Jacqueline Humphries

Position in Body                 Town Clerk / RFO Officer

Address                              Town Hall, Cross Street, Abergavenny, Monmouthshire

                                            NP7 5HD

Phone Number                   01873 735820

Local electors and their representatives also have the opportunity to question the Auditor general about the accounts and the right to attend before the Auditor General and make objections to the accounts or any item in them. Written notice of an objection must first be given to the Auditor General via the auditor and a copy sent to the body. The auditor on behalf of the Auditor general can be contacted at the address below for this purpose form 27th June 2017 until the audit has been completed.

The body’s audit is being conducted under the provisions of the Public Audit (Wales) Act 2004, the Accounts and Audit (ales) Regulations 2014 and the Auditor General For Wales’ Code of Audit Practice.

The audit of Abergavenny Town Council is being carried out by:-


Arcadia House

Maritime Walk

Ocean Village


SO14 3TL

029 2034 2777