Skip to the content

Y Maer The Mayor

Each year in May the Council elects a Mayor who represents the Town Council at events throughout the year. This year 2022-23 the Mayor is Councillor Tony Konieczny.

To invite the Mayor to attend a function please email Jax Postoyalko at


Councillor Anne Wilde is Town Councillor for Penyfal Ward. On being elected to the role of Mayor on 10th May 2023, Cllr Anne Wilde said, ‘I count it a huge honour to be elected as mayor of Abergavenny. It’s such a great town to live in with its attractive town centre, vibrant cultural scene, and caring community. I am also excited that Abergavenny has been chosen to compete in the Britain in Bloom competition. My aim as mayor is to nurture these attributes and ensure they benefit a wide and diverse community. ‘

Cllr Wilde will be supported by her husband, Cllr Gareth Wilde, as her Consort, and her Deputy Mayor, Cllr Ben Callard. 

To find out more about what we do...